Forty weeks and a day

image

Yesterday was my estimated due date. Over the weekend, I suddenly felt myself become mentally ready my still wonderful and not at all difficult pregnancy to draw to a close and for motherhood to begin in earnest. Baby is sitting low in the hips and the last three or four nights have been accompanied by strong Braxton Hicks and the sensation of him trying to wiggle his way into the outside world.

I’m glad that I know normal first pregnancies often reach well into the forty-first or forty-second weeks, although I am hoping we will get to meet our new babe sooner rather than later. Regardless, I could have a baby in mere hours, which is a bizarre thought. I will definitely give birth within two weeks. He’s almost here.

Leave a Reply

