Summer Showers

In the midst of this unusually rainy summer, we’ve been twice showered by sweet family and friends with baby paraphernalia for Michael Ryan. Baby showers are a wonderful tradition and I am sincerely thankful for each person who has helped us celebrate the impending birth of our firstborn son.

July 28th- hosted by family and friends

IMG_1693

My and Cody’s baby pictures

IMG_1691

Lovely vegetable centerpieces to go with the Peter Rabbit theme

IMG_1696

IMG_1717

IMG_1704

IMG_1727

My dear husband and me (in a not-so-flattering dress). I was thirty-four-ish weeks in this photo.

IMG_1720

Michael Ryan’s soon-to-be Grandmaw, Grandma, Nana… she’s not sure yet 🙂

August 11th- hosted by our church

IMG_1728

My mother and I in stripes

IMG_1729

Delicious cookies with Michael Ryan’s initials

IMG_1734

Beautiful aqua blue punch

IMG_1737

So many cute outfits! I wasn’t expecting to receive so much clothing for a baby boy!

IMG_1739

IMG_1740

IMG_1741

IMG_1742

Now that we’re pretty much ready for our baby’s arrival, I thought I’d share a peek at his nursery.

IMG_1752

Big basket of Econobums cloth diapers, covers, and Snappi fasteners

IMG_1754

Several photos of his baby bed to come. The Beatrix Potter comforter I found at a local thrift store for $2.50. The green crib sheet was in the same bin, matched perfectly, and cost only a quarter. Mother and I used a $1.00 pattern from Hobby Lobby and inexpensive unbleached cotton to make bumpers and a crib skirt.

IMG_1755

An old rocker that’s just my size from my grandmother, another thrift store quilt, and a beautifully soft monogrammed baby blanket.

IMG_1756

Geoff guarding our stash of baby wipes.

IMG_1757

It suddenly occurred to me a few weeks ago that I had nowhere to sit the baby once I inevitably had to go to the bathroom or cook supper or shower or load the washing machine. Luckily, one of Cody’s aunts gifted us this cute bouncer.

IMG_1759

A closet FULL of clothes!

IMG_1760

A blogger I follow suggested creating a nursing basket to keep in our bedroom during the first few weeks so that all the essentials are on hand for late night feedings. Mine includes: blankets, thin cloth diapers for burping, cotton and disposable nursing pads, creams, baby wipes, hand sanitizer, Kleenex, and a nursing cover. I plan to add some bottled water and granola bars, too.

IMG_1761

My sweet friend Alyson got him this awesomely spacious diaper bag. It is ready to go with several coming-home outfit options.

IMG_1763

A bag of towels and waterproof pads for the car and one of our trusty backpacks stuffed with clothing and underwear for our birthday trek to Chattanooga.

 IMG_1767

The sweetest church outfit ever.

 IMG_1769

We’ve got to get that car seat installed this week!

 IMG_1770

 IMG_1772

IMG_1771

IMG_1774

Lots and lots of baby blankets and a Moby Wrap that we’re super excited about using.

IMG_1775

Teeny tiny socks

IMG_1776

More towels and wash clothes than we will likely ever need.

IMG_1777

IMG_1778

IMG_1779

I got these and the larger Beatrix Potter prints on Amazon for a couple of dollars each. The frames are just cheap-os from Hobby Lobby.

IMG_1780

Hamper to be used as a diaper pail (and that will probably wind up outside that door on the porch!)

Leave a Reply

