8th Month Update

We’ve reached week thirty-two. The hot Alabama summer is keeping me indoors with condensation on the window panes and ice water always in hand. Michael Ryan is growing big and strong with bony knees and elbows and several cases of the hiccups each day. I am continually in awe of God’s grace during this pregnancy. We’ve had not one single bump in the road. Although there’s still a ways to go, what a blessing it has been to be able to enjoy wholeheartedly the first eight months of growing a baby.

I started bi-weekly visits to my midwife about a month ago. Yesterday’s appointment went well as usual, with lots of focus on the quickly approaching birth. Our boy is still head down, all of my and his vitals are still normal, and I’ve gained twenty-two pounds so far. Carolyn and I talked extensively about the supplements and herbs I’ve been taking and will add to my regimen in upcoming weeks. I’m on daily doses of Rainbow Lite Prenatal Vitamins with Probiotics, fish oil with vitamin D3, Vitamin C, D-Mannose, a skullcap tincture for my slight difficultly sleeping, lots of fresh garlic, and I’ll be adding alfalfa tablets and red raspberry leaf tablets in a week or so. We also discussed my one pregnancy-induced ache/pain. It seems I’ve developed gestational carpel tunnel syndrome. If my only problem at eight months is that I have trouble hooking my bra in the morning because my wrists are sore, I think I’m doing just fine 🙂

I’ve been putting off finding a doctor for our boy because I knew it would be quite a struggle. I was right. This morning I called six local pediatricians/ family practitioners. None were willing to conduct an interview before the baby’s birth (apparently interviewing potential pediatricians is yet another myth of the baby book), only two were accepting new patients, and only one didn’t object to delay ed/ selective vaccinations or bawk at my revelation that the child would be born in an out-of-hospital setting. I guess we’ll give him a try…

I fluctuate almost hourly between feeling like my due date is right around the corner and forever and ever away. Technically, I’ll be full-term in about a month. That’s very soon. Realistically, I could have another nine weeks to go. Either way, I’ve got lots of cleaning, shopping, organizing, and planning still to be done.

Leave a Reply

