An Un-Hobby Lobby Christmas House

We paid $2393.00 cash for a new metal roof for our house on Wednesday. Although that put a damper on our monthly mortgage goals, it is done and paid for and we shouldn’t have to worry about it again. Ever. Our plan was to wait until next summer but after a few brown stains appeared on my kitchen ceiling, we knew we needed to get a replacement installed soon. I was able to save up the money in six weeks, mostly from my writing work.

That being said, I’ve had neither the time nor the money to go all-out on Christmas decorations this year. I have several bins of stuff that I brought with me when I married or that we received before our wedding. So, I’ve completely resisted the urge to hit up Hobby Lobby for the cutest 40% off ornaments and knickknacks. I prefer a more homey and genuine holiday atmosphere anyways. Welcome to the Winningham holiday home tour!

christmas3

This plate actually did come from the above blasted Hob Lob, but I’ve had it for several years. I’ve got an abundance of cute mini pinecones in my yard. I brushed them with white paint and glitter for something sparkley to fill my (lidless) apothecary jars.

christmas1

These little houses were $1 each at the Dollar Tree last year. This year, they’re lining my kitchen window sill with candles. Nice view to wash dishes to.

christmas2

Kitchen wreath

christmas5

The house is not the same without a real Christmas tree. This is the first and last year we’re going fake. However, since we are leaving for a ten day trip Christmas night, it will prevent a pine needle explosion while we are gone. We borrowed this one from my mother.

christmas4

I had several of these little themed tea sets when I was young. I found this one a month or so ago for $0.79 at a thrift store. So sweet. Also, something for my niece to play with when she comes over.

christmas6

My grandmother has had this ornament for as long as I can remember. She gave it to me a few Christmases ago. Turns out it was the perfect size for a topper on our five foot tree.

christmas7

Another thrift store find at $1.49.

christmas8

This is the Christmas display in my bedroom. The wreath was $2.99 and the nativity $0.99 at the thrift store. The twiggy reindeer were hot glued using sticks found in the yard (thanks, Pinterest).

christmas10

I already had the silver balls and the greenery, berries, and pinecones were scavenged. Cheaper than the pansies that I usually plant in here.

christmas9

My sweet mother made this wreath for me this year. Very festive and a nice, bold decoration for my front door.

 We’ve still got to put up our outside Christmas lights but, for the most part, our tiny house is all decked out. With carols softly playing and a spicy candle lit, there’s no place I’d rather be this holiday season.

Leave a Reply

