Shock and Awe at H&R Block

Cody and I went to H & R Block last night to get our income taxes filed. I usually complete them myself online for free since we really don’t have any complicated income circumstances, but this year I convinced myself that a professional tax preparer might do a better job than an English major. NEVER AGAIN. Add this to my list of unconventional goals…never have such complicated personal finances that a tax professional is necessary. The tax woman took all of thirty minutes to input our information then charged us $213 for the service. Shock.

I had a feeling that we would not get as large of a refund as we did last year ($2800) but was hoping we would receive enough to cover tuition for my first semester of law school. Nope. Our refund is approximately $900 after combining state and federal and deducting the above astronomical cost of having someone figure this out for us. Shock again.

In light of this next piece of information, I know I really shouldn’t be complaining about a $900 tax refund. Last year our combined gross income was $47k. That came as a huge surprise to both of us. 2012 will be the first year that I have worked full-time, so I now expect us to make well over $50k this year. I feel like I need to re-evaluate our budget yet again to see exactly where all of this money is going. Wow. We’re adults. We’re adults who make an average middle class income. This is where the awe comes in.

Leave a Reply

